collaboration
Comments
Guidance from the current Satisplan knowledge base about comments.
Comments are a powerful way to collaborate efficiently, by having topic-centric conversations with a specific Goal or Task. They can be viewed and added to:
- Goals at the bottom of the Goal Details Screen
- Tasks at the bottom of the Task Details Screen
After entering a comment, do not forget to tap “Add Comment” - saving the Goal or Task is disjointed from Comments, meaning that:
- You can add a comment without saving the whole Goal or Task - simply tap “Add Comment”
- Saving a Goal or Task will NOT post your comment, if you didn’t tap “Add Comment”
Comments can be added by anyone who can view the Goal or Task - this makes them the most powerful, ensuring all Collaborators and relevant Team members can contribute, without needing permission to edit the details of the Goal or Task.
Tagging another user
Comments can be used to tag another user - for example, you can specifically ask Tom to contribute to a Goal or Task, in the following way:
- Start writing a new comment
- Type the character ‘@’
- A dropdown menu with all Users will appear
- To select your desired User, you can scroll down this menu or simply keep typing
- Finish your comment and tap “Add Comment” to post it (important! - your comment will not be posted by saving the Goal or Task, unless you pressed “Add Comment” first)
If you tag a User who does not have permission to view the Goal or Task in question, that User will be added to the list of Goal or Task Collaborators immediately. You will have to then Save the Goal or Task to actually give this user visibility on your comment. If you made a mistake adding that User, you can simply NOT save the Goal or Task, or scroll up to the list of Collaborators and remove the User.
The tagged user will receive a Notification, which will be visible as:
- A dot in his / her Drawer icon
- A dot next to All Updates in his / her Drawer
- A dot next to all other applicable Default Filters in his / her Drawer
NOTE: Technically, you can tag another user in most text fields (see list below). However, a user tagged in a field will probably need to reply via Comments, since that user might not have permissions to edit that field (unless the user is an Admin).
Here is the full list of fields where tagging is enabled:
-
Goal Description
-
Goal Notes
-
Goal Comments
-
Task Description
-
Task Notes
-
Task Explanation for Delay
-
Task Comments
Editing Comments
Currently, Comments cannot be edited. If you wish to modify a comment, please follow this process:
- Select the text of your comment and copy it (recommended)
- Paste it into a new, blank comment
- Make the edits you wish
- Post this new comment by tapping “Add Comment” (important! - your comment will not be posted by saving the Goal or Task, unless you pressed “Add Comment” first)
- Delete your previous comment
Deleting Comments
You can delete one of your own comments at any time, by tapping the little trashcan icon to the right of your posted comment. If you do not see the trashcan icon, either:
- You are editing your comment but you have not posted it yet - if you wish to edit it, simply don’t post it
- You are not the author of the comment (you can only delete your own comments)